Microsoft is requiring a mandatory upgrade to be installed on some DePaul-owned, Windows-based computers currently running a version of Windows 10 that is soon to be unsupported. Please backup your data from the computer and schedule the upgrade during non-working hours before the deadline.
These computers include many DePaul-owned devices that may be used by students, faculty, or staff members in various DePaul offices, departments, or schools. Below, you will find the most frequently asked questions centered around Windows 10 OS upgrades. IS strongly recommends you read each question and answer. This is a living document that will be updated as needed.
DePaul Information Services is requiring a mandatory upgrade to be installed on devices currently running a version of Windows 10 that is no longer being supported by Microsoft. Devices running an unsupported version of Windows 10 are no longer receiving regular updates offered by Microsoft and are therefore vulnerable to cyber security threats. This mandatory upgrade will ensure these unsupported devices are brought into compliance so that they are no longer vulnerable and in turn are receiving the latest security updates, bug fixes, and stability improvements.
You will see this message when logging in:
Windows is requiring this operating system upgrade. Users can either schedule it (highly recommended) or wait until the deadline and the computer will automatically upgrade at the deadline. If you ignore this message, don’t schedule, and wait for the automatic upgrade, the computer may take up to a few hours to update and will likely occur during work hours.
Devices that will be receiving the upgrade are running one of the following Windows 10 versions:
To find out if your device is going to be receiving the upgrade, you can follow these steps:
This upgrade can take up to 2 hours to complete so please allow enough time for installation. Since this upgrade can take quite some time, the IS department strongly recommends performing the upgrade after hours.
No data will be removed from your workstation during this process. While the loss for data is extremely slim when performing this upgrade, whenever there is an OS upgrade, IS recommends users backup all their data.
When we make this upgrade available to your specific workstation you will see this notification (image below).
The notification will provide you with 2 options: “Upgrade Now” and “Schedule”.
What should I be aware of if I plan on choosing the option ‘Upgrade now’?
NOTE: Once ‘Upgrade Now’ is chosen this action cannot be undone and the upgrade will begin immediately
If you are planning on choosing ‘Upgrade now’, IS strongly recommends you take the following actions before doing so:
If you are planning on choosing ‘Schedule’, IS strongly recommends you take the following actions before doing so:
Scheduling the upgrade can be accomplished with the following steps: